Wednesday Bankroll Play (Even)


In an homage to Harvey Pack, I took a refreshing drink at the Big Red Spring the other day. The locals have been drinking for centuries because of its healing properties. . .


. . .but nobody said it tasted good

I have had two days out of the last three with zero posts, perhaps a sign the summer is wearing on me? Nah, I’ve been busy working on my Annotated Tweets piece from the Battle and also writing an article for new issue of The Horseplayer Magazine, this one an interview with Jake Jacobs of Racing Flow. You’re not going to want to miss it.

Some thoughts on Wednesday’s card:

Race 1: LIBERTY CAP is a super obvious move up based on the Racing Flow figures. Not my kind of race, but I might nibble.

Race 2: I made a note when MOREFORYOURMONEY appeared first out that Maggie Wolfendale noted he looked like he’d benefit from added ground. He gets a drop and an extra half furlong as well. He’s also a flow move up.

Race 3: I’m against the favorite, Kid Kate, who I thought was a perfect trip winner last time.

Race 7: If we had fixed odds betting in the USA, 6/5 would represent value on MR STYLE.

Race 8: see below

BANKROLL PLAY OF THE DAY:

Race 8: $25 win and place on #3 ALAURA MICHELE.

I know there are some pertinent negative stats associated with her, but I’m not too worried about them. Based on her pedigree, the 6 furlongs first out should have been too short but she was so fast that she wired them. With no races for her since then, I imagine Bill Mott targeted this race right then and there. And Bill Mott with a target is an angle I really like, especially since she should love the added ground. yes, she was unruly in the sprint downstate, but there has been plenty of time to sort that out.

MEET TO DATE RESULTS: +436.75 (lost $50 Monday)

This entry was posted in handicapping, horse racing, Saratoga Springs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment